Hoot

Image

Roy Eberhardt is the new kid–again. This time around it’s Trace Middle School in humid Coconut Grove, Florida. But it’s still the same old routine: table by himself at lunch, no real friends, and thick-headed bullies like Dana Matherson pushing him around. But if it wasn’t for Dana Matherson mashing his face against the school bus window that one day, he might never have seen the tow-headed running boy. And if he had never seen the running boy, he might never have met tall, tough, bully-beating Beatrice. And if he had never met Beatrice, he might never have discovered the burrowing owls living in the lot on the corner of East Oriole Avenue. And if he had never discovered the owls, he probably would have missed out on the adventure of a lifetime. Apparently, bullies do serve a greater purpose in the scope of the universe. Because if it wasn’t for Dana Matherson… 

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen is a book about a boy (Roy Eberhardt) who just moved to Florida. He was pretty much bored with his life until he saw Mullet Fingers, a boy on the run. Honestly, at first, this book bored me. It was not that boring but well, it didn’t really catch my attention… but since I was desperate for a new book to read, I read on. But once I got to know Mullet Finger’s story and how he was connected to Beatrice the Bear and how she was connected to Roy, it suddenly because so interesting that I was not able to put it down. Everything in this book may just seem like a simple prank at first, but eventually, you’ll see that it’s not…

This book shed a new light in my understanding on nature and how important it is. This book made me realize that we can actually make a change through simple ways. This made me see that we, young people, can improve things. I highly recommend this book. I think you should all read this because there is something for everyone here. And I’m sure y’all will enjoy it 🙂

Image

Did I mention that there’s a movie??? And Logan Lerman is in it?? I haven’t watched it yet but I definitely will!!

Leave a Reply

